Wrapping it up with a big red bow

I find it hard to believe that we’re only a few days away from the end of 2010.  So much has happened to me this year.  I left a great association after 10 years for a new opportunity.  I traveled to Los Angeles for the first time.  I went to my first Redskins game.  I found a great tasting organic soymilk.  However, none of those things compare to the aftermath of starting Association Advocacy Chick.

Through this blog, I found a voice that had always existed, but was too afraid to come out.  I wished I listened to my former ASHA colleagues Maggie McGary and Janet McNichol when I first expressed interest in writing a blog two years ago.  However, I’m a firm believer that things happen for a reason and the best time for me to start writing was August 26, 2010.   I also discovered that creative writing helped my professional writing tremendously.  The Horizons column I wrote in November’s Associations Now would’ve never happened if it wasn’t for the confidence I gained through blogging. 

I still can’t get over the people who have read and commented on the blog.  Jeff Hurt?  Really?  ASAE staff?  Really?  The association blogging community is filled with some of the most supportive, honest, intelligent, hilarious people I’ve ever met.  Seriously, what would life be without the wisdom of a KiKi L’Italian or a Deirdre Reid or a Jamie Notter?  These and other wonderful association bloggers keep me on my toes and striving to the next level.    While I don’t aspire to be a legend, I want to be just like them when I grow up.

Looking forward to 2011, I can’t wait to see where this blog takes me.  I hope to feature more of my fellow DELP scholars (are you listening Artesha Moore?) as well as my association colleagues.  With the incoming Congress, I’m sure I will have a lot to talk about.  Until then, Happy Holidays and thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “Wrapping it up with a big red bow

  1. As always, a wonderful post and an excellent way to end the year. Can’t wait for what you’ll share with us in 2011!

  2. Thanks Joan and Shawn! I always appreciate your comments to my posts.

    Shawn – Please give Miss Artesha the heads up that I’ve called her out. I have every intention of getting her to do a guest post next year and hope that you can help her find a topic she’s comfortable with.

  3. I’m so happy you’re part of our association blogger community! I love it for the same reasons you do — supportive, sharp, fun, eager to learn people who inspire me to be my best. We’re blessed indeed. Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

